Collegiate Sports

The Atlantic Coast Conference

The ACC has long enjoyed the reputation as one of the strongest and most competitive intercollegiate conferences in the nation. Since the league's inception in 1953, ACC schools have captured 82 national championships. The nine-school conference has had an immediate impact on the national college football scene. Since 1990, the ACC is one of only five conferences to have each of its schools play in a bowl game. The ACC is nationally ranked as the # 1 basketball conference with powerhouses that include UNC, Duke, Wake Forest and NC State among North Carolina's borders. Inter-collegiate sports competition is intense in the Research Triangle Region, with three nationally high-ranking teams competing in football, basketball, and soccer every year.
In 2004, the ACC will expand to eleven members welcoming Virginia Tech and Miami. Boston College will enter the ACC in 2005 making the ACC a 12-member conference.

ACC schools in the Region are listed below:

Duke University
  • NCAA Men's Basketball Champions (1991, 1992 & 2001)
  • NCAA Women's Golf Champion (1999 & 2002)
  • NCAA Men's Soccer Champion (1986)
NC State University
  • NCAA Men's Basketball Champions (1974 & 1983)



University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • NCAA Men's Basketball Champions (1924, 1957, 1982, 1993 & 2003)
  • NCAA Women's Basketball Champion (1994)
  • NCAA Women's Soccer Champions (1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, & 2003)
  • NCAA Men's Soccer Champion (2001)
  • NCAA Men's Lacrosse Champions (1981, 1982, 1986, & 1991)
  • NCAA Women's Field Hockey Champion (1985, 1995, 1996, & 1997)
Atlantic Sun Conference   

The Atlantic Sun Conference (A-Sun) stands alone as far as athletic achievements in NCAA Championship competition as it is the only IAA/IAAA conference in the country to claim postseason wins in men's basketball, women's basketball, baseball, softball, men's soccer, women's soccer and volleyball over the past five seasons. During this period the A-Sun has also put competitors in the National Championship round in men's golf, women's golf, men's cross-country, women's cross-country, and women's track and field. The Atlantic Sun Conference offers media exposure in some of the south's best media markets. The A-Sun celebrated its 25 th anniversary in 2003.  

Campbell University

Campbell University is the second-largest private university in North Carolina. The Fighting Camels field 18 varsity sports at the NCAA Division I level. In all, nearly 300 student-athletes participate in the intercollegiate program.
An estimated 5,000 Campbell alumni live within a one-hour drive of the campus in Buies Creek, North Carolina.


Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA)

Established in 1912, the CIAA is the nation's oldest black athletic conference, rich in history and heritage. The CIAA is entering its ninety-second year of athletic competition in which they continue to reap success and recognition on the field and on the court.
The CIAA is a premier member of the NCAA Division II. The conference consists of twelve historically African-American institutions of higher education. The CIAA conference includes 3 of the Region's universities/colleges as member institutions.
The CIAA Basketball Tournament has been hosted by the RBC Center in Raleigh for the past several years and will again on February 28- March 5, 2005.


North Carolina Central University

North Carolina Central University's athletic programs have enjoyed regional and national recognition for years. Fifteen men's and women's sports teams participate in the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) competition at the Division II level.
  • 1989 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Champions
Shaw University

Shaw University is a member of the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA). Shaw has thirteen men's and women's sports teams that participate at the Division II level.
  • 2004 CIAA Women's Basketball Champions
Saint Augustine's College

Saint Augustine's College is a member of the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA). St. Aug has thirteen men's and women's sports teams that participate at the Division II level.
  • 2004 CIAA Men's Outdoor Track & Field Champions (2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998 -- 7 th Straight)
  • 2004 CIAA Women's Outdoor Track & Field Champions (2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997 – 8 th Straight)
  • 2003 CIAA Women's Volleyball Champions (2002, 2001, 2000 – 4 th Straight)
  • 2003 CIAA Men's & Women's Cross Country Champions
 Professional Sports

The Carolina Hurricanes

The Hurricanes play inside the newly built $152 million RBC Center which seats over 19,000 people.
The NHL is bringing the 2004 NHL Draft to Raleigh on June 26-27 th. It has also promised to bring the All-Star Game as well.
The Carolina Hurricanes experienced great success in 2002 making it to the Stanley Cup Finals against the Detroit Red Wings before losing the series.
For tickets, please call 1-888-NHL-Tix-1.
  • 2002 NHL's Eastern Conference Champions
The Durham Bulls

Made famous by the movie, "Bull Durham," this Triple- A farm club for the Tampa Bay Devil Rays enjoy widespread Triangle support.

The Bulls became the only team in the 119-year history of the International League to sweep back-to-back Governors' Cup Finals.

In 2003, the Bulls became the first International League team to repeat as champions since the Columbus Clippers did it in 1991 and '92, and became the first Durham pro baseball team to repeat since the Bulls did it in 1940 and '41 in the old Piedmont League. They achieved a paid attendance of over 500,000 for the third consecutive season despite 50 rain-affected games.
The Bulls play in a new $16-million brick Durham Bulls Athletic Park, opened in 1995 in downtown Durham and was expanded to 10,000 seats for the 1998 season, the year which the Bulls began playing in the Triple-A International League. The Durham Bulls Athletic Park has been consistently ranked by Baseball America as one of the best stadiums in the minor leagues. For tickets please call (919) 956-BULL.
  • 2003 International League Champion (Governor's Cup)
  • 2002 International League Champion (Governor's Cup)
  • 1917 Champions ( North Carolina State League)
The Carolina Mudcats

The Carolina Mudcats are the Double-A affiliate of the Florida Marlins in the Southern League. The Mudcats compete at the new million dollar renovated, state-of-the-art Five-County Stadium. The new facility has a capacity of 6,500 seats located in Zebulon, NC. In 2003, the Carolina Mudcats won their second Southern League Championship. Carolinas only other league championship was in 1995 as a Pittsburgh Pirates affiliate. For tickets please call (919) 269-CATS.
  • 2003 Southern League Champions
  • 1995 Southern League Champions
The Durham Americans

The Durham Americans are located in Durham, NC and are members of the Coastal Plain League (CPL). The CPL is a NCAA-sanctioned summer baseball league that allows players to play against high-level talent every day using wood bats instead of aluminum. The league was recently rated and the second most talented summer league in the US (just behind the Cape Cod League).

The home field for the Americans is the Historic Durham Athletic Park. The park is famous as a filming location of "Bull Durham" but was also home to several current and former major league stars like Joe Morgan, Chipper Jones, Andruw Jones, and Ryan Klesko. The park has been home to the CPL club since it was founded and is among the best parks in the league.

The Americans have found success in recent years, including a league championship in winning the 2001 Petit Cup (as the Durham Braves). (919) 956-9555